The Lowdown #2

Getir Gets Down (Round), UK CBDC TBD, Excel + Python = 🤯 plus where is tech's talent pool going

👋🏾 Hi friends!

Bit of a whirlwind of a week for me this week with the first recording of the new season of Nothing Ventured in the bag.

Judging by some of the exploratory calls I’ve been having over the last few weeks, the rest of the season looks like it’s shaping up to be pretty spectacular!

In some personal news, I am writing today’s issue from my first ever Apple device, the Macbook Air - as someone who has been a Windows / PC user for the last 30 years, this has been a tough, but rational decision for me - check out my thoughts here.

Down to business!

Today I look at:

🏍️ Getir’s down round
🪙 When are we going to see some CBDC?
🐍 What happens when Excel gets bitten by Python?
📉 What’s going on with tech’s talent pool?

And remember to check out this week’s Nothing Ventured pod where we take a look back at some of our guests most passionate about levelling the playing field in venture 💪🏾

Also, if you have any feedback or if there’s something you’re desperate to see me include, just reply to this mail or ping me online - I’m very open to conversations.

Give me a follow on LinkedIn, Twitter (do I really have to start calling it ‘X’ soon?), Instagram.

(If you are trying to connect with me on LinkedIn, maybe read this post I wrote and make sure to start your request with “Lowdown” and, more importantly, tell me why you’d like to connect 💪🏾)

Don’t forget to like, rate and subscribe to Nothing Ventured on Apple, Spotify or YouTube, it really helps more people see what we’re doing!

Now let’s get into it.

This edition of Nothing Ventured is brought to you by EmergeOne.

EmergeOne provides fractional CFO support to venture backed tech startups from Seed to Series B and beyond.

Join companies backed by Hoxton, Stride, Octopus, Founders Factory, Outlier, a16z and more, who trust us to help them get the most out of their capital, streamline financials, and manage investor relations so they can focus on scaling.

If you’re a CFO working with venture backed startups and want to join a team of incredible fractional talent, drop us your details here.

If you’re a growing startup that knows it needs that strategic financial knowhow, drop your details here to see how we can support you as you scale 🚀

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Off Balance to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.