The Lowdown #13

Nothing Ventured talking venture debt with Bootstrap Europe, Hussein Kanji joins the Midas List Europe, Venture funding in Europe down 50% in 2023, ChatGPT One Year On

👋🏾 Hi friends!

As a tech enthusiast, I’m always left incredibly disappointed when tech fails.

Well today, I was reminded that even the richest (and possibly one of the smartest) people in the world can build products that don’t work as you expect them to.

In this instance, I’m talking about the Tesla.

Only a year in and a pretty significant failure which means I’m going to be spending most of my day today at the service centre. Sigh.

But on a more uplifting note, this week on Nothing Ventured I spoke to Fatou Diagne and Stephanie Heller. They’re the founders of Bootstrap Europe, a fund providing growth debt to high growth scale ups.

Here’s what you can expect:

➡️ Fatou and Stephanie discussed their ‘origin’ story: From boarding school in France > travelling across the dessert in Africa > ultimately founding Bootstrap Europe

➡️ We discussed how startups can use venture debt alongside equity investment to scale

➡️ How, despite being massive underdogs, Bootstrap Europe was able to acquire SVBs European venture debt portfolio (at a discount no less!) and continue to support great ventures in Europe.

Check it out!

This week there have been a few things that have caught my eye in the tech and venture ecosystem and what we’ll be talking about this evening, namely:

🤑 Friend of the podcast, Hussein Kanji, joins the Midas List Europe
📉 Venture funding in Europe slashed in half this year
🤖 ChatGPT one year on

Also, if you have any feedback, or if there’s something you’re desperate to see me include, just reply to this mail or ping me online - I’m very open to conversations.

If you like what I’m putting out, do give me a follow on LinkedIn, Twitter and Instagram.

(If you are trying to connect with me on LinkedIn, maybe read this post I wrote and make sure to start your request with “Lowdown” and, more importantly, tell me why you’d like to connect 💪🏾)

Don’t forget to like, rate and subscribe to Nothing Ventured on Apple, Spotify or YouTube, it really helps more people see what we’re doing - you can find links to these (and more including my Office Hours) right here!

Now let’s get into it.

This edition of Nothing Ventured is brought to you by EmergeOne.

EmergeOne provides fractional CFO support to venture backed tech startups from Seed to Series B and beyond.

Join companies backed by Hoxton, Stride, Octopus, Founders Factory, Outlier, a16z and more, who trust us to help them get the most out of their capital, streamline financials, and manage investor relations so they can focus on scaling.

If you’re a CFO working with venture backed startups and want to join a team of incredible fractional talent, drop us your details here.

If you’re a growing startup that knows it needs that strategic financial knowhow, drop your details here to see how we can support you as you scale 🚀

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Off Balance to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.