• Off Balance
  • Posts
  • Nothing Ventured - In Conversation with Alex Mann, Timechain

Nothing Ventured - In Conversation with Alex Mann, Timechain

Bitcoin, Timechain, Emerging Economies, CBDCs, Energy, Crypto, Blockchain and investing in Bitcoin picks and shovels

šŸ‘‹šŸ¾ Hey there!

Itā€™s incredible how quickly the week goes isnā€™t it!? Iā€™m writing this whilst sat in the 30+ degree, humid heat of Tuscany and feeling grateful to be here!

I've known the team at venture capital firm Concentric for some time, and in a conversation with the founding partner - Kjartan Rist - he suggested I might want to speak with one of their team, Alex, who had set up a new fund to look at investment in Bitcoin infrastructure.

I was naturally intrigued.

Firstly because I have always been slightly sceptical of the crypto and blockchain ā€˜movementā€™ but also because after speaking to Alex, it was clear that some very smart people, including himself, were taking the opportunity pretty seriously.

In fact one of the first things he said to me when we first spoke was that he thought both blockchain and the wider crypto space were essentially unregulated ponzis which will all go to zero over time.

Maybe you disagree, but hey - donā€™t shoot the messenger!

So with that in mind, I really think youā€™ll enjoy this episode of Nothing Ventured with Alex Mann šŸŖ™šŸŖ™

p.s. I love feedback so please do tell me your thoughts on the episode! Iā€™d love your opinion on what I could do better, who youā€™d like to hear from and anything else you might want to let me know - just reply to this email :)

Iā€™m also very open to conversations, so give me a follow on LinkedIn, Twitter (at least until it implodes), Instagram and now Threads and drop me a note :)

Donā€™t forget to like, rate and subscribe to Nothing Ventured on Apple, Spotify or YouTube, it really helps more people see what weā€™re doing!

With that said, letā€™s get into it.

This edition of Nothing Ventured is brought to you by EmergeOne.

EmergeOne provides fractional CFO support to venture backed tech startups from Seed to Series B and beyond.

Join companies backed by Hoxton, Stride, Octopus, Founders Factory, Outlier, a16z and more, who trust us to help them get the most out of their capital, streamline financials, and manage investor relations so they can focus on scaling.

If youā€™re a CFO working with venture backed startups and want to join a team of incredible fractional talent, drop us your details here.

If youā€™re a growing startup that knows it needs that strategic financial knowhow, drop your details here to see how we can support you as you scale šŸš€

In conversation with Alex Mann - Partner at Timechain.

When you first sit down with someone, itā€™s evident whether or not theyā€™re a deep thinker.

I had first noticed Alex was when we first spoke over a zoom call. As he and I discussed his background a bit further, I learned he held both a BSc in Physics from UCL and a Master of Philosophy from Cambridge.

It became obvious to me that Alex was someone who is insightful and observant with an analytical mind. He understands how to think, and more importantly, thinks about things that are worth spending time and energy on.

The ensuing podcast was one of my favourites, mainly because it challenged a number of my own preconceptions around Bitcoin, it's utility and its future.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Off Balance to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.